the seven chakras


A complex and ancient energy system originating in India, chakras were first mentioned in the Vedas - ancient sacred texts of spiritual knowledge dating back to 1500 to 500 BC. 

Coming to understanding, and practicing, a wellness approach which incorporates maintaining an open and aligned energy flow of your 7 chakras is life changing … or perhaps it is best said to be life connecting. Life affirming. Life present. Life lived well. 

The 7 Chakras are part of the foundation of understanding crystal healing.

The following is an essential reference of the 7 chakras on your path towards energy healing and self care.


1st Chakra


Color: red

Location: base of the spine

Key words: survival, connection to earth, health, abundance, strength, family, security, passion, tradition, endings & new beginnings

Corresponding crystals include: red jasper, tiger’s eye, hematite, black obsidian, smokey quartz, black banded agate, zircon, falcon’s eye, moonkaite. jet, black opal, red calcite, black tourmaline


2nd Chakra


Color: orange

Location: right below the naval

Key words: empathy, energy, creativity, connecting to other people, relationships, confidence, joy, employment, fertility, stamina, sex, negotiation, natural cycles

Corresponding crystals include: orange calcite, carnelian, copper, pink banded agate, pearl, sardonyx, tiger’s eye, sun stone, amber, moonstone, aragonite, goldstone


3rd Chakra

Solar Plexus

Color: yellow 

Location: behind bottom of the breastbone

Key words: self-esteem, bravery, confidence, trust, responsibility for decisions, logic, memory, concentration, adaptability, learning, free will, authenticity, individuality

Corresponding crystals include: citrine, yellow jasper, ametrine, sulfur, anhydrite, hessonite, topaz, yellow tourmaline, agate, lemon quartz, sunstone


4th Chakra


Color: green

Location: center of chest

Key words: love, humanity, trust, safety, adventure, relationships, faithfulness, commitment, forgiveness, compassion, hope, harmony, gentleness, kindness

Corresponding crystals include: aventurine, malachite, rose quartz, emerald, jade, garnet, ruby, green moss agate, amazonite, rhodochrosite, peridot, prehnite


5th Chakra


Color: blue

Location: center of throat - thyroid

Key words: communication, expression, responsibility, freedom, willpower, choice, following dreams, justice, faith, knowledge, leadership, ability to make decisions

Corresponding crystals include: blue lace agate, angelite, turquoise, aquamarine, blue chalcedony, aqua aura, blue quartz, azurite, blue opal, blue fluorite, sodalite, blue apatite, chrysocolla, blue kyanite


6th Chakra

Third Eye

Color: indigo

Location: right above between your eyebrows

Key words: vision, dreams, thoughts, ideas, mind, clairvoyance, truth, honesty, open to new ideas, teaching, cosmic vision

Corresponding crystals include: lapis lazuli, sodalite, sapphire, moldavite, celestite, tanzanite, azurite, dumortierite, labradorite, iolite, fluorite


7th Chakra


Color: violet

Location: right above the crown of your head

Key words: spirituality, connection to the universe and god, awareness, selflessness, ethics, devotion, fulfillment, connection to angels, “i know,” “i understand”

Corresponding crystals include: amethyst, spirit quartz, sugilite, white calcite, labradorite, howlite, magnesite, rutilated quartz, selenite, clear quartz