the four elements

The ancient Greeks believed that there were four elements: fire, water, air, & earth. tracing back to about 500 BC, the philosopher Empedocles of Acragas identified the essence of our modern notion of matter and force through naming these four elements. Aristotle went on to build upon and expand this theory. The 

Buddha's teaching in regards to the four elements is that rather than being a theory or philosophy, they are the base of all observation of real sensations. 

Dynamic theories and observations, each classical element offers many dimensions from simple physics, to the symbolism their energies represent: 
  • is either active or passive 
  • relates to one of the four cardinal directions 
  • is associated with an Astrology sign 
  • corresponds to particular suit of Tarot 
  • reflects your “state” 
The following is a convenient reference of each of the elements.



Represents the state of: “I do” 
Cardinal direction: south 
Astrological signs: Aries, Leo, & Sagittarius 
Tarot suit: Wands 
Property: heat or energy content 

Descriptive words: 
  • energy & action 
  • passion 
  • drive 
  • ambition 
  • expansive 
  • aggressive 
  • proactive 
  • undeterred 
  • willpower 
  • inspiration



Represents the state of: “I feel” 
Cardinal direction: west 
Astrological signs: Cancer, Scorpio, Pisces 
Tarot suit: cups 
Property: cohesion 

Descriptive words: 
  • emotions 
  • feelings 
  • intuition 
  • love 
  • relationships 
  • serenity 
  • spirituality 
  • deep related to shallow 
  • ocean relating to the moon



Represents the state of: “I think” 
Cardinal direction: north 
Astrological signs: Gemini, Libra, Aquarius 
Tarot suit: swords 
Property: expansion or vibration 

Descriptive words: 
  • thought & ideas 
  • intelligent 
  • ego 
  • logic 
  • reasoning 
  • communication 
  • conflict 
  • awareness 
  • perception 
  • air circulates 
  • air cleanses



Represents the state of: “I am” 
Cardinal direction: east 
Astrological signs: Taurus, Virgo, Capricorn 
Tarot suit: Pentacles 
Property: solidity or inertia 

Descriptive words: 
  • nature 
  • physical 
  • material 
  • sensual 
  • health 
  • stability 
  • reliability 
  • prosperity 
  • production 
  • growth 
  • foundation 
  • practicality 
  • finances

the 4 elements 

From meditating - to creating - a process is deepened when working with the four elements, they offer profound insights to ground what spiritual work you prefer / most identify with.